The Way it Used to be

superboy-1-of-1
I am still sticking my neck out,
wishing for something familiar.
searching for my storied youth,
but all has vanished so long ago.
I am not sure I can hang on much longer.
the nights of dreaming of life’s many wonders up at the stars,
we could run faster then Superman we were like the birds, free,
and all that was pretend we could see in our hands.
we were whoever we set our minds too.
we climbed super gigantic snow filled mountains,
and we drove across the whole world’s beautiful roads.
we would always be the greatest hero’s,
and we always fought off the evil with our swords and guns.
and no matter what we were the hero’s in the end.
but now I am losing my prospective on things,
I can’t see it the way it used to be,
but damn do I wish it still was a little bit like those old days.
a little bit of adventure and freedom from the stress of this world,
and a lot of action and excitement,
why not fill our hearts and go anywhere we dreamed?
but where are we now?
we lost ourselves in this cruel sad world,
we lost our some times out there imagination,
but to bad for now, we can only dream,
of the way it used to be.

Leave a comment